H.O.F. 32 comments

Today, at 5:00 central, the MLB Network will announce the new members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

There’s a good chance a record number of inductees will be announced.

The most players to be elected into the Hall in a single year is five, and that was the very first year, when Babe Ruth, Honus Wagner, Christy Mathewson, Ty Cobb and Walter Johnson were enshrined.

This year, odds in favorites are Chipper Jones, Jim Thome, and Vladimir Guerrero. Trevor Hoffman has a good chance to make it, as does Edgar Martinez, although so many voters have been reluctant to vote for a guy who was just a DH.

It appears none of the PEDers will make it in. It will be curious to see how many votes Bonds, Clemens, Sosa, and McGwire do, indeed, get and whether their totals are increasing.