M.O.Y. 13 comments

Minnesota Twins Paul Molitor and Arizona Diamondbacks Torey Lovullo won Manager of the Year honors. From MLB.com, here is an interesting list of previous MOY winners.


Most Manager of the Year wins by franchise:
l.  White Sox: 5
2. Cubs, Nationals/Expos: 4
4. Indians, Dodgers, Pirates, Giants, Braves, Rangers, Yankees, Athletics, Tigers, Orioles: 3

Most Manager of the Year Awards:
1. Bobby Cox, Tony LaRussa: 4
3. Dusty Baker, Jim Leyland, Joe Maddon, Lou Piniella, Buck Showalter: 3

Won Manager of the Year in first full season:
2016: Dave Roberts, Dodgers
2015: Jeff Banister, Rangers
2014: Matt Williams, Nationals
2011: Kirk Gibson, D-backs
2006: Joe Girardi, Marlins
2003: Tony Pena, Royals
1986: Hal Lanier, Astros

Manager of the Year and World Series champion in same season:
Ozzie Guillen, 2005 White Sox
Jack McKeon, 2003 Marlins
Big Fat Mike Scioscia, 2002 Angels
Joe Torre, 1998 Yankees
Joe Torre, 1996 Yankees (Co-MOY)
Tom Kelly, 1991 Twins
Tommy Lasorda, 1988 Dodgers
Sparky Anderson, 1984 Tigers